Take a deep breath

A year and a half ago, I hit an all time low health wise. I was completing my masters degree in education, and my eating/exercise regimen was anything but appropriate. It was then that I decided to get into shape, and start spending a little extra $$ on healthy foods. A major battle I have faced my whole life has been asthma. I have been running 3-4 days a week for the past 18 months and I still cannot run a consecutive mile! It is sooo frustrating when my legs are screaming “keep going” but my lungs are begging me to stop. I am on several medications for my asthma and I take them religiously but I still cannot get through a workout without needing to puff the old inhaler. I have asked advice from everyone I see fit, and everyone seems to say the same thing: “take it slow.” After 18 months I feel like I have taken it slow enough and I am sick of my handicap. One strategy I have used that has helped is chewing minty gum as I run. It seems to open my airways and gives me something to focus on besides my rapid short breaths.  Does anyone have any advice for me?? I am always looking for a quick tip to help improve my health and most importantly, my breathing!

Question: What is holding you back from reaching your fitness goals?

What do you think?

