Food Good Enough to Name

So I just got home from volleyball and I had a BLAST! I was a little worried I would be rusty because I haven’t played in 8 years, but it was just like riding a bike. It was super laid back and we did about 6 mini games. They were a mix of 4 on 4, 5 on 5 and 6 on 6. My thighs are already killing me from the squatting haha AND as predicted my arms look as if I spent all day baking in the sun. But it was a great workout and competition. I can’t wait for next week!

So before I discuss our amazing dinner we had slow cooking all day, I want to share my redemption sandwich. If you read WIAW this week, you saw this pathetic disgrace of a sandwich.

Image

Well today’s lunch was 180 degrees better!

Image

“OMG that looks amazing whats in it?!”

Well I’m so glad you asked that invisible friends. This is a lemon pepper chicken breast cutlet with lettuce, tomato, cheese and pickles on 2 pieces of Arnold protein bread. As you can probably tell, Nolan and I did some grocery shopping last night! Now normally grocery shopping is a hassle, but it is actually our FAVORITE thing in the world to do. I’m serious. We both love to cook (and eat) so we have a blast shopping for ingredients. We always look for new things to try, and last night we struck the jackpot.

Image

Everyone, meet Porky!!! Porky was an adorable 3 lb pork shoulder that Nolan and I just couldn’t resit! (Some food is just so good, it deserves a name) Right away we knew we had to bring him home and have delicious pulled pork sandwiches tonight. Nolan covered Porky with a mix of spices that included Grill Mates dry pork rub and some other “secret” ingredients. His exact words when I asked him were “I’ll tell you when you’re older”.

Image

Image

He put him in the crock pot with a whole sliced onion and added Bullseye Sweet and Tangy BBQ sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and apple cider vinegar.

Image

Isn’t he pretty?! Porky marinated over night and then before I left for work this morning, I turned him on low. 8 hrs later, we came home to an incredible smelling apartment and perfectly pulled pork 🙂

Image

Believe me, he tasted a million times better than he looks, I promise. I just love crock pot meals. They are so convenient and there’s an endless amount of possibilities. Food coma time!

What do you think?

