WIAW: Protein Power

Happy Wednesday! We are in the home stretch and I couldn’t be more excited. I love my job, but this week has been hell.

Today I was on track and prepared for this week’s What I Ate Wednesday!

Breakfast: 8:00

Oatmeal with Trader Joe’s Very Cherry frozen fruit blend, topped with that protein granola I bought at T.J.Maxx a few weeks ago. It is very addictive and has a fantastic peanut butter taste.

Lunch: 10:50

Pineapple Chobani (my favorite one) topped with crushed Special K Protein Plus cereal. Red and green peppers with Sabra roasted red pepper hummus. (Isn’t this container awesome?! Christmas Tree Shop $1.50)

Snack 1:30

A cup of grapes with a wedge of Laughing Cow Light Cheese (This is one of my favorite snacks)

Snack: 4:00

Dinner 6:00 – Ok so tonight is leftover night in our house, so I am going to share yesterday’s amazing dinner instead!

The lighting is terrible in our “dinning room” so I apologize for the bad quality. This weekend Nolan and I went grocery shopping and Tilapia  was on sale so we stocked up. Tonight’s fish was broiled with cayenne pepper and fresh lemon juice.

On the side I steamed some fresh zucchini, summer squash, and mushrooms.

I also cooked some organic whole wheat couscous from- where else- Trader Joe’s. Tonight’s couscous mix-ins were diced tomatoes, fresh spinach, 1 wedge Laughing Cow Light, lemon pepper, and 1 tsp light Caesar dressing.

At the last minute I topped my fish with a spoonful of the Jalapeno Peach Salsa I picked up at the Earth Day Festival on Saturday.

This stuff has an incredible taste with a very big kick. There was a nice, fresh balance of flavors between the peach and the peppers. I am excited to find other recipes to utilize this ingredient.

As I said, the fish was actually last night’s dinner, but can you say protein overload today?!? A few weeks ago it was carb central but this week it was protein protein protein.

  • protein granola
  • protein plus cereal
  • Chobani
  • Clif bar
  • Cheese
  • Fish

I really need to work on balancing my meals. Maybe that will be one of my goals for next week….

Question:

What food group do you favor the most?

One thought on “WIAW: Protein Power

  1. Pingback: 5 Months to Go! « Savor life's flavors

What do you think?

