Quoth The Raven: Food and More!

Hope everyone is enjoying their Cinco de Mayo! I haven’t been celebrating, but I have had a fabulous day. This afternoon I had some qt with my bridesmaid Sarah. We went to see new movie The Raven

source

**Ok I have a quick confession to make. I LOVE John Cusack. LOVE. There isn’t a movie he has done that I haven’t loved (even though the movie 2012 made that very difficult). A few of my favorites are:

   

Say Anything                                                                                         Grosse Pointe Blank

        

High Fidelity                                                                    Serendipity

When I saw he was going to be playing Edgar Allan Poe, I immediately decided to go see it. I didn’t have high expectations for this film because I really didn’t know what to expect.

Right off the bat, I loved it because John Cusack was, John Cusack which is to say he was charismatic, even as Poe, without taking himself too seriously. He had to lose almost 30 lbs to play the part, and I thought he looked and acted just as I imagine Poe would.

source

Without giving anything away, Poe is asked to aid a detective catch a murderer who is killing people based on Poe’s greatest poems. It was so interesting because as they discussed the clues for the next murder, I was trying to figure out which story it matched. Some of the themed killings were to:

The Masque of the Red Death

The Cask of Amontillado

The Pit in the Pendulum

Macbeth

and of course, The Raven.

This is the first movie I have seen in a while that I will probably purchase when it comes out on DVD. If you like Poe at all go see this movie!!!

**********************

My friend Matt called me earlier this week to complain that there wasn’t enough food and Matt in my blog. I gave him the challenge of finding a good place to get lunch this weekend to change this. He decided to go to John Harvard’s, which is my favorite place in the world.

In 1992 the first brewery opened in Cambridge Ma, and today they have several locations in New England and New York.

They brew their beer in house for all to see and their seasonal rotation is always changing. We each started our meal with the beer sampler which features samples of 5 of their current beers.

We also ordered the Asian Crispadillas as an appetizer. The best way I can describe them is they are like crispy crab rangoons.

For dinner I went outside my traditional hamburger comfort zone and got the chicken pot pie.

How adorable is that! It was flaky and to die for! Nolan stayed right in his comfort zone and ordered the buffalo chicken wrap. I swear he would eat dirt if it was covered in buffalo sauce.

Matt sprung for the signature item, the buffalo chicken mac and cheese. It was epic looking.

Check out that portion! We sat and enjoyed our food and drinks and watched the Red Sox lose another game 😦 At least the food was good. We made a few stops on the way home, but I will get to that tomorrow!

John Harvard’s: 9/10 on the Sullivan Scale

Question:

What food is in your “comfort zone”? Are you celebrating Cinco de Mayo?

What do you think?

