Master Your Metabolism

So change of plans. Since about 1am I have been living on the bathroom floor with a terrible stomach bug. 😦 It comes with the territory of spending my days with little kids who wipe their noses on their shirts. So I am stuck at home, feeling disgusting. Last night I put a post together for this morning that I’m gunna post anyway. Enjoy!

*********

Morning! It is day 2 of MCAS testing today for me and my students so wish us luck. Something  neat that we do in the classroom the morning of MCAS is feed the kids tons of protein!

source

Protein rich foods have been dubbed “brain food” because they stimulate brain function and the amino acid tryptophan in milk products causes the brain to be more calm and relaxed. Fun fact!

Yesterday morning and today the kids will have access to yogurt, low fat cheese sticks, hard boiled eggs, and milk. Even if it’s just placebo effect, every bit helps 🙂

source

*******************

As I was packing my lunch last night, I was delighted to finally have a new fruit in the rotation: Watermelon! Yes summer is almost here and it’s sweet and delicious. Plus, its a metabolism boosting- “Negative Calorie Food.”

source

If you have been reading my blog you know I love The Biggest Loser, but I especially love Jillian Michaels. When I first made the decision to get in shape and be more conscious of my eating habits, I read Jillian’s book Master Your Metabolism.

source

This book was particularly interesting to me because Jillian and I have something in common, a crappy thyroid. The thyroid is a key factor in a body’s metabolism and it has slowed mine down tremendously. Jillian (Yea we are on a first name basis) struggled with this all her life and has several cheat sheet of foods that are both helpful and harmful to thyroid function.

I was SHOCKED to learn that strawberries, tea, coffee, peanuts, red meat, eggs, and many other foods that I regularly consume are actually BAD for thyroid function. UGH

Foods rich in iron like leafy greens, avocados, fish and green peppers help thyroid function and can boost your metabolism.

In addition to this list, she compiled a list of foods that speed up metabolism and encourage rapid fat burning which are referred to as “Negative Calorie Foods” because they help your body burn more calories than they are worth. Here are some examples of these foods:

Vegetables: Asparagus, Broccoli , Cabbage, Cauliflower, Celery, Cucumber, Endive, Green Beans, Onion, Radishes, Spinach, Zucchini

Foods: oatmeal, spicy foods, black tea, whole-grain cereal, lean meats, salmon, tuna

Fruits: Apple, Blueberry, Cantaloupe, Cranberry, Grape Fruit, Honey Dew Melon, Lemon, Lime, Orange, Pineapple, Watermelon

Along with my goal to eat more balanced meals, I am going to try and incorporate these rat burning foods into the rotation!

10 thoughts on “Master Your Metabolism

  1. Pingback: WIAW: And Kept Down! « Savor life's flavors

  2. Pingback: Savor life's flavors

  3. Pingback: A Diagnosis | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

