WIAW: And Kept Down!

How is everyone’s Wednesday going? I am not ashamed to say that I have spent my entire day on the couch with Bob Harper! By that of course I mean I watched roughly 8 episodes of The Biggest Loser. Got to love Netflix. And it was a free trial! Free Fun? Oh def!

source

Today my mission was to create some makeshift meals using the info I learned yesterday regarding foods that prevent nausea and keep them down. Here is a quick recap from yesterday:

Foods that help eliminate nausea:

  • Crackers – they absorb stomach acid. Gross but helpful.   
  • Sports drinks- they are rich in potassium and electrolytes.
  • Apples- small amounts of fiber help clear out the system
  • Nuts- protein can regulate nausea
  • Chicken bouillon broth
  • Mint and Ginger- this is an old school remedy for nausea

************************

Breakfast: 9:30

I don’t have any apples so I went to the next best thing.

1 cup unsweetened applesauce with cinnamon and a cup of green tea. After reading Danica’s post, I’m kicking myself for not adding some PB2 in the mix! Next time! 😉

Lunch: 1:00

Lean chicken deli meat and avocado wrap. These whole wheat wraps are 60 calories each. They are a bit thinner than typical wraps but they get the job done! I added 4 slices of Oscar Mayer lean chicken breast deli meat, and about 1/4 of an avocado.

With 48 hours of boring “meals” I needed to shake things up a bit.

Pinot? Chardonnay? Sauvignon blanc? No no friends, Bouillon.

My super exciting lunch was served!

About half way through this meal I could almost hear my stomach laughing at me saying “HA! You think you are ready for solid foods?!” I had to call it quits and take it easy for a little bit. 😦

Snack: 4:00

This is the watermelon I packed for my lunch on Tuesday.  I actually didn’t eat the blackberries because I had a handful Monday night, right before the sickness hit….Needless to say it will be awhile before I can eat another blackberry. 😦

Dinner: 7:00

I had ZERO appetite but my body was exhausted so I needed some fuel.

              

A handful of pistachio nuts………                                        ………and a Clif bar (photo re-used)

Foods that help eliminate nausea:

  • Crackers – they absorb stomach acid. Gross but helpful.   
  • Sports drinks- they are rich in potassium and electrolytes.
  • Apples- small amounts of fiber help clear out the system
  • Nuts- protein can regulate nausea
  • Chicken bouillon broth
  • Mint and Ginger- this is an old school remedy for nausea

 

I think I did pretty well today considering what I had to work with. Hopefully tomorrow I can get back into my usual routine and schedule. I have a very fun evening planned tomorrow, and I hope I am feeling 100% so I can fully enjoy it!

 

Question:

What is your favorite food to eat when you are feeling sick?

5 thoughts on “WIAW: And Kept Down!

  1. It’s always tough to find things to eat when you’re sick to your stomach. Especially when nothing sounds good! I usually end up having some plain toast and hard pretzels.

    I hope you’re feeling better!

  2. What tortillas do you use Katy? They look great! I stick to chicken soup, toast, fruit (even for the water to stay hydrated) and oddly enough LARA bars. I can’t explain that last one!

    • The tortillas are Tumaro’s Multi Grain Tortillas. They are 95% fat free. 1 tortilla is 60 calories, 2g of fat, 11g carbs, 7g of fiber and 6g of protein. I bought them at a local grocery store, Roche Brothers.

What do you think?

