Music and Memories

Happy Friday everyone! This has been a crazy week for me and nothing about it has been routine or on schedule. I got home late last night (post to come) and didn’t have time to stop by blog land.

I had another weird wedding dream last night. There was nothing too specific happening, I just remember that overall no one was taking the wedding seriously, and it made me think of all the loose ends we still have to tie up.

Nolan and I are still struggling to find special songs for our wedding. All of “our songs” are too fast for a first dance. When I was brainstorming, I started to think about all the songs that have stuck with me over the years attached to certain memories.

  • Complicated by  Avril Lavigne

“Chill out, what’cha yellin’ for, lay back, it’s all been done before”

This song will forever make me think of the summers I spent laying by my grandparents pool.

  • If U Seek Amy -by Brittany Spears

A week after I graduated college, two of my friends and I drove to Louisiana and helped build houses with Habitat for Humanity.

The building itself was TERRIBLE but the road trip was one of the best things I have ever done. This song came on at least 20 times in our 3,000 mile journey.

  • Any Hootie and the Blowfish song

These make me think of camping with my family at Nickerson State Park down the cape. We go every year, and despite staying in tents together for 1-2 weeks at a time we always have a million laughs and hilarious memories.

  • Time of Your Life by Green Day

Both my college and high school graduation

  • Beverly Hills- Weezer

Summer of 2005, the summer between my high school  and college careers.

Every time I hear these songs I think of all the fun memories I have from my life so far. I know that the song Nolan and I dance to on our wedding day is just a song, but I know it will stick with me forever. There are a few songs we are thinking of right now that seem appropriate.

  • Ever The Same -Rob Thomas. I love Rob and I always thought this would be a beautiful wedding song.

“You may need me there /to carry all your weight /But you’re no burden I assure/You tide me over/With a warmth I’ll not forget/But I can only give you love. Fall on me /tell me everything you want me to be/Forever with you/ Forever in me/ Ever the same”

  • I Won’t Give Up- Jason Mraz – This song makes me think of wedding vows and the ups and downs of a relationship

“I won’t give up on us/Even if the skies get rough/I’m giving you all my love/I’m still looking up”

  • A Thousand Years- Christina Perri– I love this song even though

“I have died everyday waiting for you/Darling don’t be afraid I have loved you/For a thousand years/I’ll love you for a thousand more/And all along I believed I would find you/Time has brought your heart to me/I have loved you for a thousand years/I’ll love you for a thousand more”

My mom suggests we pull a scene out of Dirty Dancing and come out to “I’ve Had the Time of My Life”, lift and all!

Thoughts? lol

Question:

What song did/will you dance to at your wedding? What about the father daughter dance?

What is one song/memory connection you have?

3 thoughts on “Music and Memories

  1. My fiance and I are dancing to Dancing Shoes by Green River Ordinance. For some reason the song has followed us and I swear whenever we were fighting in the car it would come on. 🙂

What do you think?

