Sun, Shopping, & Saturday Shenanigans

What a beautiful afternoon! It is such an amazing day out there and it even reached 80 today! I am smack dab in the middle of the PERFECT Saturday. Lets recap:

Morning:

First I did some shopping and used a $40 gift card leftover from Christmas to Dick’s Sporting Goods. I bought 2 workout shirts for $37.00! Most of my workout gear is from T.J.Maxx or Old Navy so it felt nice to splurge!

I noticed today that  all of my workout clothes are girly colors. 75% Of my everyday wardrobe is blue or black but my gym wear screams girly girl right down to my feet.

After my shopping spree I met Kara for our gym date and had a fantastic workout.  There is just something about a sunny day that gives me so much motivation. I was sweating up a storm and my arms were shaking by the end of the hour, but I stayed nice and dry thanks to my new shirt.

(ps. this was gym day number 6 where no one has processed my Groupon membership. So far my “12 visits” has evolved into 18! I wonder how long I can keep this up?) I have come to realize a workout feels so much better when it’s free 🙂 )

Afternoon: After a quick shower, Kara and I headed to Subway to get some lunch.

I got a 6 inch black forest ham with provolone cheese, lettuce, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers and pickles with a drizzle of red wine vinegar on wheat bread. We took our lunch to Cushing Park for a little picnic.

We ate, talked and soaked in some vitamin D  for about 1 1/2 hrs. Don’t worry I had my Irish sun-arsenal with me aka my hat, sunblock spf 30, and sunglasses. (Nolan even called to make sure I didn’t lay out too long. He hates “Lobster Katy”. His term not mine)

After our picnic Kara asked if I minded making a quick stop at Trader Joe’s on the way home. MIND?! I had nothing I needed so it was solely impulse buys. I managed to make it out for $16! I even stopped myself from buying any wine even though the wine they had to sample today was delicious!

I did however give in and buy the food samples they were giving out today.

Rosemary Asiago cheese and pita crackers. for $4.50 total, I think it was worth it. I even picked up some Salsa Autentica per the recommendation of Angela! I also got some essential ingredients for one of her newest recipes 🙂 I can’t wait to try them.

Nolan had been asking me to pick up artichokes for a while now so he was quite happy to see what I brought home. What he plans to do with them? No idea. Anyone have any good recipe ideas?

Since we were still so hot from our day in the sun, we decided to squeeze in one more stop before we headed home. It took me 1 week before I made my infamous return to Mad Willies!

I was craving something refreshing and fruity so I got the fat AND sugar free mango soft serve frozen yogurt.

They take vanilla yogurt, and fresh mangoes and put it through a soft serve machine so its all mixed in together. Genius. It was just what I needed after a long day in the sun. Kara got the fat free AND sugar free raspberry.

This is definitely what I will get next time. AND I got two more punches on my frequent yogurt card. That means I need 6 more before I get my free yogurt. It’s the little things 🙂

It was a perfect way to spend me Saturday. Tonight we are going to continue our successful day by renting some movies, drinking some wine, and eating some cheese and crackers courtesy of TJ’s.

Question:

What is your idea of a perfect Saturday? Fro-yo flavors and toppings – fruit or candy?

3 thoughts on “Sun, Shopping, & Saturday Shenanigans

  1. Ohhhh….where to begin…
    1. I’m in love with your new shoes! I stick to black too, but those are fabulous.
    2. I can not wait to try that cheese and those pita snacks! They’re calling to me along with some two buck chuck.
    3. I can’t wait to hear how you like the recipes. 🙂
    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

    • 1. Thank you! They were on sale and fit so well.

      2. These pita snacks were incredible! They will probably be a new staple for me because they are so versatile. I am embarrassed to say I polished off 3/4 of this cheese block Saturday night. So good,

      3. I love the salsa and I am planning on making the other recipes later this week 🙂

  2. Pingback: Goodbye Belly Bloat! « Savor life's flavors

What do you think?

