My Mom From A to Z

Happy Mother’s Day to all the strong, and influential women out there who devote their lives to their children. This is going to be a sappy post because, well I’m sappy sometimes and it’s Mother’s Day so it’s socially acceptable.

I realize that most people feel this way, but I have the best mom.

(Helping me move in 2010)

(Halloween 2011)


She is still the very first personย  I call (sorry Nolan you are #2) whenever:

1- I just got some great news

2. I am freaking out about something

3. I have a funny story

4. I am sick (she got a call Tuesday morning ๐Ÿ™‚ )

5. I need practical advice

**Funny story. I was dating someone else 6 1/2 years ago and my mom invited my friend Nolan to an event instead of my current boyfriend because she liked him better and she could just see us together. In 4+ months my friend Nolan will be my husband. Mother always knows best ๐Ÿ™‚ **

As a little tribute, I have put together a list of unique alphabetical words and adjectives that describe my mom.ย  I will not be using stereotypical mom words like “kind, nice, cheerful”. Yes- my mom can be all of these things, but I hate when people describes mothers as if they are pods, and not real people and more importantly, real women.

A-attentive -through the good and the bad

B- boisterous – not afraid of being heard

C- -confidentย  at least on the outside

D- down to earth no b.s

E- expectations– The highest for her kids

F- feisty -especially when she gets pulled over for no reason ๐Ÿ˜‰

G-generous -Thanks for paying my bills!

H- holistic

I- inspiring

J- Jose Cuervo ๐Ÿ™‚

K- knowledgeable

L- legs- A trait I am happy to have inherited

M- Metallica-She blasts them in the car

N-nurturing

O-observant – she sees all whether we like it or not!

P- practical She tells it like it is.

Q- quotes – we have whole conversations through Dirty Dancing quotes.

R- respectful

S- sport’s supporter – Never misses a game/event even after she’s worked all night.

T- taxi driver

U- understanding- Even when we make horrible choices

V- vent-er – Always there when I need to vent about life

W- words- One of the most eloquent people I know. “If you can’t dazzle them with brilliance baffle them with b.s”

X- Xanex? – She does it all without!

Y- yells – sometimes it’s necessary

Z-zoological – Loves animals

My mother is incredible. I hope I end up being half the person she is, and I can influence my children in the same way. If you feel the same, re-post this tribute with some adjectives of your own, and be honest. If you don’t want to do A-Z, at least post adjectives that coincide with the letters of their first name.

source

5 thoughts on “My Mom From A to Z

  1. Awesome post Katy!! I totally agree- my mother will ALWAYS be the #1 person I call whenever I get great news or need to be talked off a cliff. Or when I do something totally stupid like step on my $600 Chanel glasses and totally break them and have a panic attack. Not that I’ve ever done that……….. ๐Ÿ™‚

What do you think?

