Breaking The Habit

Before I begin this morning’s post, I have to share something with you.

Remember when I said it was 80 degrees yesterday during my run? Well my back up hair tie left a nice little tan burn line. πŸ™‚

Lately I have noticed a real trend in my little blog world. Many of the people I follow have been making similar statements regarding their current emotional, motivational and stress related state. I myself have been battling with a case of unmotivated, stressed, frazzled, uncontrollable life. I’m not sure that makes sense but it’s how I have been feeling, and it wasn’t until I crossed the finish line of my race  yesterday that I decided I needed to seriously do something about it.

 

Last year, a woman I worked with was observing Ramadan. Ramadan is a period of 30 days during the Islamic calendar where the people fast from sunup to sundown. Nothing, not even water can pass through their lips. I was amazed that her family was able to do this and she explained to me that all it took was discipline and focus.

For 3 days I participated and nothing passed through my lips from sunup to sundown. I proved to myself that I can be focused, and achieve whatever I wish.

I am starting to recognize the similar need for some focus right now. While I will not be fasting, I will be more conscious of my habits, and take control and responsibility for my actions and how they are effecting my day to day.

My current cycle:

  • Stressed
  • unmotivated
  • not cooking/eating crap
  • not exercising
  • not sleeping as well
  • stress
  • unmotivated
  • not cooking……

See a pattern? Its a vicious cycle and its hard to break. I am attempting the impossible: Breaking the habit.

Some of you may have noticed that I did not set any goals this week. This was once again a cyclical disaster.

No goals= no expectations=excuses=slacking off=my jeans are too tight.

For one, my current stress regarding my lack of job security and financial stability is not something I can control! I hate that, but I need to stop stressing,and start focusing on the things I can control (in a healthy, responsible way) such as my workouts, diet, and how I spend my down time.

A few weeks ago I posted about 5 healthy habits and I have not been practicing what I preach and it’s time to start.

I found this anti-stress clipart diagram and I just love it!

So these are my new goals!

Goals:

  • Cooking all my meals (except Tuesday. More to come.)
  • Balancing my meals with carbs, protein and fat
  • Working out as much as possible even if I cannot get to the gym.
  • No alcohol. NONE.
  • Being in bed by 11
  • Staying positive even when I want to jump out a window or push someone out of one.

Wish me luck. I think I got this πŸ™‚

3 thoughts on “Breaking The Habit

  1. I always forget how good I feel when I’m doing stuff that is really good for my body…eating well, exercising regularly. You feel strong and in control, and when other stuff is out of control…it kind of calms your anxiety. I’m also cutting out alcohol…definitely hurts more than it helps. Good luck! You already know you can do it!!

    • Thanks Krista! When you get into a good groove, everything feels so balanced. When I exercise, I want to eat well and my body is tired by 9pm which means I get better sleep, and eliminate my infamous 10:30 snack πŸ™‚ If I have a drink or two, it is ALL downhill. I eat a ton, don’t sleep, and have zero motivation to exercise the next day. I’m excited to hear you are on the same page and I’m not alone in this. We got this! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Date Night in the Rainforest | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

