Date Night in the Rainforest

Good evening everyone! Thanks for all the positive feedback on the new site makeover ๐Ÿ™‚ I am loving my new look and I am glad you are too.

Unfortunately I didn’t have my phone with me for most of the day so I didn’t get many pictures of my food.

Breakfast: Cereal and raspberries

Lunch: A salad with leftover steak and green beans and some strawberries on the side

Snack: Pineapple Chobani with raspberries and pineapple chunks

But the real winner of today’s menu was dinner. Remember when I set this week’s goals and I omitted Tuesday from my “cook all my meals” goal? Well that was because Nolan and I had a date night planned! We had a wedding errand to run at 5 and we knew we would be starving by the time we were done so we planned on stopping for food on the way home. However neither of us planned on eating in the rainforest.

Tonight’s dinner was at theย  Rainforest Cafe!

This is a restaurant that is designed to look like the rainforest, complete with trees, animals, and a simulated thunderstorm every 20ish minutes.

The atmosphere is incredible! Nolan and I had both been there before but not since we were kids. Some of us reverted right back to kid mode the moment we sat down. ๐Ÿ™‚

Our “tour guide” aka hostess sat us right between the fish tanks and the elephants!

Every few minutes the elephants would move and make noises. They seem very lifelike! Nolan was a bit upset we were not seated by the monkeys but he quickly got over it once our food came.

We were starving so we started out with an appetizer. We actually ordered something else, but this is what we were served and we were too hungry to argue.

It was a queso dip and it tasted like Velveeta with salsa and some veggies mixed in. A.K.A it was delicious! It was very difficult to not lick the bowl. We both agreed it was the greatest mistake ever and even tipped her a little extra.

For dinner I ordered the China Island Chicken Salad which was crisp greens tossed with grilled chicken breast, potato sticks, sesame seeds, carrots, rice noodles and scallions tossed with our China Island salad dressing.

For the record this was VERY difficult for me to order. Generally I do not think salads are very filling, but with all that queso dip I needed a healthy-er entree. It tasted great and about 60% of this salad is my lunch for tomorrow ๐Ÿ™‚

Nolan ordered the Guacamole Burger which was topped with a fried onion ring, Pepper Jack cheese, crispy bacon and fresh guacamole with lettuce, tomato and pickles.

The food was pretty good but you definitely payed for the atmosphere more than anything. Even the bathrooms were cool!

Overall it was a great night and we both agreed we would go on a second date with each other ๐Ÿ™‚

We also stopped and an INCREDIBLE new dessert place before heading home, but I will save that review for tomorrow. Goodnight!

 

Rainforest Cafe: 5/10 on the Sullivan Scale

4 thoughts on “Date Night in the Rainforest

  1. Pingback: WIAW: Leftover Addition | Savor Life's Flavors

  2. Pingback: Say Cheese! | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

