Eggplant Pasta and a Refreshing Dessert

Morning all!  Time to go back to work 😦 This past weekend was great and full of fun but it certainly felt like it was time to get back into the routine of work! Just me? Maybe.

Last night’s dinner was inspired by a recipe I saw on the web site Eating Well

I was instantly craving eggplant once I saw it at Trader Joe’s yesterday but eggplant parm is such a process to make. I wanted something quick, easy and healthy. This recipe I found was almost perfect, except we didn’t have some of the ingredients on hand so we had to improvise. Here’s what we came up with.

Eggplant Pomodoro Pasta

Ingredients:

  • 1 medium eggplant (unpeeled) cut into 2 inch cubes
  • 1/2 cup grape tomato halves
  • 1/2 cup chopped mushrooms
  • diced garlic
  • fresh basil
  • 1/4 cup pasta sauce
  • whole wheat pasta

Dice the eggplant and put in an electric skillet. I sprayed it with some fat free cooking spray so it would brown a bit.

Next I added the remaining ingredients and simmered until the vegetables were tender (About 10 minutes). I tossed it over whole wheat angel hair pasta and sprinkled a little bit of reduced fat Parmesan cheese on top!

It was so delicious!  The vegetables all meshed together very well and the fresh basil brought this meal to a whole new level! The eggplant was so tender and full of flavor. Did you know there is only about 130 calories in one whole eggplant? Its mostly just water.

Look at all that fiber!! Wow who knew? I certainly need to purchase more of these gems in the future!

After dinner was a fan-tastic  dessert!

Frozen yogurt + some frozen berries=

Mixed berry frozen yogurt!

As the package says, this yogurt was “pleasantly tart.” I could have eaten a whole bowl plain but the berries were an added bonus! This is definitely a dessert I will continue to enjoy all Summer long! It’s a great way to save on some $$ as well which is always a bonus. And there are so many possibilities. I can’t wait to make a batch of  PB2 fro-yo with chocolate chips 🙂

Question:

What is your favorite flavor of ice cream or frozen yogurt? Do you prefer fruity or chocolaty?

 

2 thoughts on “Eggplant Pasta and a Refreshing Dessert

  1. Eggplant is my favorite vegetable! I can’t wait to try this recipe. Oh, and dessert looks pretty amazing too!

What do you think?

