A Trip Down Memory Lane

It is no secret here on Savor Life’s Flavors that I have been a bit antsy these last couple weeks. Well yesterday I had a little revelation which could be to blame. I have only gone away 3 times in 3 years and every occasion has been during the first week in June! Clearly my mind and body think I’m supposed to be on vacation.

I started looking back at my June adventures and have compiled a little trip down memory lane for you all!

(p.s: Please excuse Fat Katy.)

June 2009:

It was a few weeks after my college graduation and my friend Kara and I somehow convinced our friend Tim to come with us to Lafayette Louisiana to work with Habitat for Humanity. We packed up his mini van and began our 10 day journey! It was the craziest thing either of us had ever done and it remains my only road trip to date.

Day one we arrived and it was TERRIFYING.

The area we were in was heavily impacted from Katrina and still desperately trying to pick up the pieces! We stood out like a pair of sore thumbs.

We knew on day one we were in trouble when the project manager asked,  “How comfortable are y’all with a table saw?” Table saw?! It was the longest week of our lives and we complained the whole time however looking back it was a phenomenal experience and we laugh about it constantly.

AND at the end of the week we had built some pretty amazing homes!

Are they still standing? I like to think so πŸ™‚

June 2010

I was entering into my final semester of graduate school and I desperately needed a break. So I jumped on a plane and headed to Nashville to visit two of my favorite people in the world. πŸ™‚

These are my cousins Julie and Kelly! You know those friends you can go years without seeing and just pick up right where you left off? That’s us! I was fortunate enough to visit them for about a week in 2010 and as always we had a fantastic time together. I listened to country music, saw the sites and also got another taste of southern living!

 

June 2011

Last year I went on one of the greatest adventures of my life. Kara and I spent a week on board the Norwegian Dawn Cruise Ship and headed to Bermuda.

Bermuda is the most beautiful place I have ever been and I cannot wait to go back.

We relaxed, sipped on drinks, explored the island (and the natives πŸ™‚ ) and I can honestly say it was the happiest week of my life.

June 2012:

I have no plans.  No vacations, escapes, or fun road trips to plan. It’s a bit depressing 😦

It’s not like I have nothing to look forward to however. In 120 days I will be on my way to the Dominican Republic with my new husband!

Can I go now? Is that allowed? Because I could really use a nice escape from my life. Not in a slit-my-wrist I’m depressed way, just in a change of pace, escape to a place that doesn’t look like my apartment – way.

 

What do you think?

