Succotash: The Perfect Summer Side

Last week when I was looking through my issue of Family Circle Magazine I came across a recipe I was very anxious to try. It hit all my major recipe musts-

  • Simple, fresh ingredients
  • less than 4 steps

(Yea I have pretty high standards for my food lol)

Over the summer I try my best to get as many veggies into my system as possible because I tend to go overboard on other foods, especially if there is a grill involved. However I get VERY bored with salads, and pasta and potato salad are not the BEST health-wise. When I saw this recipe I thought it would be a nice change of pace and a good summer side dish! **The recipe called for 2 tbsp of butter which I chose to omit.**

Photo-Montage:

I ate it both hot and cold and either way it was a nice addition to my meal. One addition I would like to make would be to grill the corn first. That smokey flavor would be fantastic πŸ™‚

These are the nutrition facts according to the article:

Per Serving: 100 calories, 3g of fat, 5g protein, 21g carbs, 4g fiber.

Not bad huh? Clearly from the pics I made a TON of succotash. I like to make sides like this in bulk so it’s a no-brainer when I get hungry. I am much more likely to make a healthy food choice when it’s prepared and ready to go!

3 thoughts on “Succotash: The Perfect Summer Side

  1. Love this recipe! It looks amazing! I love anything light and fresh, especially when it can be made in bulk and will stay a couple of days. That will be the perfect light lunch too! Thanks for the idea. πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: URL

What do you think?

