A Diagnosis

Happy Friday everyone and happy LAST DAY OF SCHOOL to all my teacher friends πŸ™‚

Wednesday Night:

I had a busy day and used my trusty old crock pot to get a jump on dinner and save some time.

Fiesta pulled chicken!

Delicious!

**********

Thursday:

I have some news. I am choosing to share this with everyone to explain and document some of the changes that will hopefully be taking place in my life.

Over the past few weeks I have had many ups and downs. I have tried my best to keep my blog mostly positive but I know my negativity and stress can be read between the lines and in my sarcastic remarks.Β  Between the hives, the emotions, and the stress, I am happy to finally have an answer and hopefully put a stop to my madness.

As I mentioned previously here on Savor Life’s Flavors, I have had thyroid issues in the past. Well the results of my blood work came in and I have officially been diagnosed with Hypothyroidism. The doctor is not 100% sure if the hives were related to this diagnosis but they at least got me into the office and lead to the discovery. Crazy huh? For those who are unfamiliar, here is a little background on what this means vie the Mayo clinic

What the Thyroid glad actually does:

Hypothyroidism (underactive thyroid) is a condition in which your thyroid gland doesn’t produce enough of certain important hormones. Your thyroid is a small, butterfly-shaped gland located at the base of the front of your neck, just below your Adam’s apple. Hormones produced by the thyroid gland have an enormous impact on your health, affecting all aspects of your metabolism. Your thyroid gland produces two main hormones that maintain the rate at which your body uses fats and carbohydrates, help control your body temperature, influence your heart rate, and help regulate the production of protein. Although this process usually works well, the thyroid sometimes fails to produce enough hormones.

Symptoms:

  • Sensitivity to cold
  • Weight gain
  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Weakness
  • Fatigue

Treatment:

  • A balanced diet
  • Medication

What This All Means for Me:

A slightly different lifestyle.

  • Watch what I eat
  • Take a pill everyday
  • Cut way back on caffeine and alcohol – they both strongly influence the absorption of thyroid medications in the body

Silver Lining?Β  It should eliminate my anxiety, mood swings, and random panic attacks. (Nolan is especially excited about this.)

I am not going to lie, I was terrified when I found out. I understand there are far worse things, but the thought of having to take a pill everyday to ensure my body functions properly scares the hell out of me. There is also a common theme among hypothyroid patients: weight gain. I am going to have to be VERY aware of what I put into my body now and really focus on using food as fuel and not fun. There are also several foods that I should avoid or at least limit.

Here is a nutritional guide according to My Food My Health:

A diet for hypothyroidism should include whole foods rich in iodine, niacin, riboflavin, zinc, as well as vitamins B6, C, and E. These nutrients naturally support proper thyroid functions as well as overall good health and vitality.

Foods To Eat:

  • Yogurt
  • Fish
  • Apples
  • Berries
  • Green Tea
  • Eggs
  • Potatoes
  • Chicken
  • Peppers
  • Avocados
  • Brown Rice
  • Turkey

Foods To Avoid:

  • Nuts
  • All soy products
  • Raw broccoli
  • Raw Spinach
  • Strawberries
  • Canola oil
  • Gluten

This is certainly not going to be an easy overnight change, but I plan to do everything possible to improve my health and prevent further damage.

Workout:

After my doctor appointment yesterday, I was planning on hitting the gym to relieve some stress but it was such a beautiful day that I made a last minute decision to go to Cushing instead. I obviously had a lot on my mind so I zoned out and 5 miles later I called it quits. I have not run this much in a long time and I know I will be sore tomorrow but it was just what I needed to clear my head.

Food!:

Post workout I made an executive decision and got my second Subway sandwich of the week. They are just so good and so cheap!

6 inch ham and cheese on wheat bread with lettuce, tomato, peppers, onion, pickles and cucumbers. Since it’s avocado month at Subway, I had them put a dab of fresh guacamole on there too πŸ™‚ I also crunched on these:

I had never seen these before but there are only 75 calories in the whole bag and no fat which isn’t bad at all! I took my dinner and headed over to the ball field to watch my brother Brian pitch. Free fun πŸ™‚

I cannot wait for summer. This is probably how most of my days will end πŸ™‚

*Stay positive*

Question:

What is one food you could not eliminate from your diet?

14 thoughts on “A Diagnosis

  1. I’m glad that you were able to finally get a diagnosis! Now you can begin your path to feeling better. I wish you the best of luck! πŸ™‚ Getting diagnosed with something is never easy. I was recently diagnosed with Crohn’s Disease. It is a process trying to figure out which foods and medications work for you. Stay strong girl!

  2. Thank you for sharing this and I’m so glad you didn’t just sweep all of this under a rug and try to feel better. You took control of your health and happiness and that is so wonderful! πŸ™‚

  3. Pingback: June Yoga Challenge: Week #2 | Savor Life's Flavors

  4. Stay strong and positive Katy! Even though it may be a bit challenging at first to eliminate some foods, but just think how much better you will feel soon! There was one point in my life where I was on a soft diet for 6 months and another when I had to elminate soy, legumes, dairy, gluten, and sugar for 4 months. It’s hard, but you find substitutions that you enjoy just the same. Remember, we’re here for support too! πŸ™‚

    • Wow I cannot imagine eliminating all those foods! I am hoping to ease myself into the process. Luckily, I have much more free time this summer to focus on myself and experimenting with my new lifestyle πŸ™‚ Thanks so much for the support. You’re the best!!

  5. Pingback: Goji Berry Power | Savor Life's Flavors

  6. Pingback: 3 Month Anniversary & A Giveaway! | Savor Life's Flavors

  7. Pingback: Changes | Savor Life's Flavors

  8. Pingback: My Homepage

  9. I have had hypo thyroids for 13 yrs..I have been on syrnhtoid for yrs and not to lie to you I have never felt they way I used to..I wake up tired and sometimes so depressed that I can’t handle life ..I have gained a lot of weight but still not as much as a lot of others.I have no self confidence no more and I have alot of fears and anxiety.Going to walk the dog is hard now..Making supper for family is hard..I stay sick and get sick easy..It’s like I no longer have a immune system..I have mood swings like I have bi polar and severe menstrual problems.Sometime I don’t even have a period at all for months and then I have one that last a week and then off for a week and starts over again..I really don’t eat alot and still gain weight and it is very difficult for me to loose weight even when I follow a doctors plan..My blood pressure is low and really that is only the one good thing about this disorder..I am cold all the time and in the summer I can’t take the heat at all.I don’t sun burn but sweat like a hog I hope you find something to help you and if you do let me know Please..Thanks and Good Luck .

  10. Pingback: site

  11. Pingback: Thyroid Update | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

