Cucumber Melon Madness and A Drumstick Dinner

How is your Friday going? So far today I have completed job #6 and I’m currently taking a break from job #5.

Yesterday was another successful detox day! I am down another 2 pounds from Sunday (That’s 4 so far this week) and feeling great! Here are a few highlights from yesterday’s success.

Fitness:

  • Walked to and from work again
  • Took the kids for a walk
  • Completed this workout at the gym:

Food:

I have a current obsession which has solved my anti-water problem!

This sparkling water was on sale this week at Price Chopper, and I am HOOKED! It has a bit of bubble and it tastes like seltzer water. This has kept me very hydrated as of late and I will certainly stock up asap. If you haven’t tried it, go get some!

I even used it to create a delicious and refreshing post-workout beverage.

Oddly enough, this drink was inspired by my hand soap.

I am calling it my Cucumber Melon Madness!

Ingredients:

A happy mix of watermelon, honeydew, and cucumbers from the farm. I threw everything in my Magic Bullet and away it went!

I added a splash of sparkling water to give it some fizz and sipped it on the balcony.

DINNER:

Crock pot chicken drumsticks.

Ok let me back track a bit. Drumsticks are always cheap and very versatile. I have a fantastic recipe for these tasty things that I busted out for dinner. It seriously could not be any easier so this is definitely something you HAVE to try. It’s cheap, easy, and delicious! AND it’s a crock pot recipe so it’s hands free cooking!

**Note: Adding tin foil to the bottom of the crock pot keeps the drumsticks from sitting in it’s own fat. It makes this recipe a bit healthier, and it makes the sticks crispy!**

Step 1 & 2:

Step #3

Step #4

On the side I utilized the remaining veggies from this week’s farm shipment.

 

I steamed some summer squash and zucchini.

 

I had to do something with the radishes and beets. I had no idea how to cook them so I Googled it. I steamed the root veggies and added them to a salad of mixed greens, cucumber, and tomatoes.

It was a very fresh meal that took no time at all! I am seriously loving this farm share. I forgot how amazing fresh produce tastes. Sometimes the grocery store veggies are so tasteless and mealy.  It has also been great to have the opportunity to try all these new foods. I would never buy beets or radishes at the store but now I really enjoy them.

Question:

What fruit or vegetable would you most like to try?

2 thoughts on “Cucumber Melon Madness and A Drumstick Dinner

  1. Pingback: WIAW: Summer Staples and Spa Giveaway | Savor Life's Flavors

  2. Pingback: WIAW: Summer Favorites | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

