WIAW: Staying Hydrated

Hey there and welcome to another WIAW

I read an article in Woman’s Health Magazine regarding which foods to consume to keep you hydrated on a hot day.Β  Here is a list of foods with high percentages of water in them!

TOMATOES: 94%

C ANTELOPE: 90%

LETTUCE: 96%

ZUCCHINI : 95%

EGGPLANT: 92%

WATERMELON: 92%

STRAWBERRIES: 92%

EGGS: 75%

Since it has been a million degrees the past few days and I HATE water I thought I better incorporate some of these foods into my diet.

BREAKFAST:

An egg scramble with tomatoes, green peppers, onions, swiss chard, and parsley with a side of cantaloupe.

LUNCH:

A cherry pomegranate Chobani yogurt mess! This is probably the best yogurt-fruit combo I have had in a long time!

Pomogranite Chobani + fresh cherries + Cherry Almond Granola

It was the perfect combo of sweet and tangy!

DINNER:

We have a TON of fresh produce from our farm share that was not going to last much longer so we had to act fast. I decided to throw everything together and attempt a batch of ratatouille! I have never made it before but it didn’t look too difficult. I started off with our fresh produce.

  • Zucchini
  • Summer Squash
  • Carrots
  • Eggplant
  • Cherry tomatoes
  • Onions
  • Green pepper
  • Parsley
  • Basil

Next I cut everything up, and threw it in the crock pot with a little chicken bouillon and marinara sauce.

Obviously Nolan’s first comment was “where is the meat in this meal” Valid question. I almost threw some ground chicken in there but decided not to. To give it a little substance I served it over some brown rice.

I will be 100% honest, it needed meat. Or maybe cheese? Or bacon and cheese? 😑 I also left it in the crock pot a little too long. I wish they had been a little crisper.

DESSERT:

Trader Joe’s frozen yogurt with TJ’s frozen mixed berried on top.

This frozen yogurt is sooo good! Its a bit tangy but with the berries on top, it’s a perfect balance.

Overall it was a very good day of eats. πŸ™‚

Today is the last day to enter the Spa Finder gift card giveaway!

Here are several ways you can enter this giveaway!

  • Leave a comment telling me how you would use your $25 +1
  • Follow SLF on twitter and Tweet about the giveaway and leave me a comment letting me know you did +1
  • Follow Savor Life’s Flavors and leave me a comment letting me know you did +1

*Open to U.S participants only*

17 thoughts on “WIAW: Staying Hydrated

  1. Love roasted eggplant with marinara and parmesan for lunch or dinner sometimes, but I love the idea of the crockpot!

  2. I am OBSESSED with that trader joes frozen yogurt! It is so perfect with fruit, chocolate, pretty much anything and for these super hot summer days, its even better!!! your whole days worth of eats looks delicious!

What do you think?

