Thyroid Update

 

Good morning and happy Friday! Tomorrow I start my vacation and I cannot wait! I will be down the Cape for 5 days with my family enjoying some simple pleasures. 🙂

 

I wanted to give everyone an update on my thyroid problems. It has been 8 weeks since I started the new medication for my Hypothyroidism. If you aren’t familiar with this term, check out my menu “Cheat Sheet” for more info. 🙂

Let me just start out by saying that I never listen to my body unless it’s in pain. I am TERRIBLE when it comes to determining cause and effect when it comes to my health. I always feel like there are so many variables, how can I ever pinpoint an A-Z path? As you may remember, the whole reason I discovered this issue was an insane rash I developed that lasted a week and laughed in the face of Benedryl and Prednisone.

How does this lead to a thyroid diagnoses? Who knows. To be quite honest, I still don’t exactly know how to connect those dots (no pun intended). Nevertheless, a diagnosis was formed, a medication was started, and I began to feel better. But why?

Unfortunately, I started the new medication on my very last day of the school year. Immediately I experienced less anxiety, a healthier metabolism, and I was much less run down. N0w, to any teacher these symptoms are a sign of what we call “summer vacation.”So the question was, is this change from medication, or the bliss of temporary  unemployment?

Well I just had my blood work completed and all the work has paid off! My body has responded very well to the medication, too well actually. The doctor has cut down my medication to balance everything out. I will keep having blood work done every 8 weeks to monitor my levels but as long as I keep doing what I’m doing, I should be all set! 🙂

I have made changes to my diet. I have not cut anything out 100% but I have certainly cut down on many of my previous habits that can interfere with thyroid development.

  • I drink MUCH less coffee

  • I try to eat many of the foods on the DO list such as berries, yogurt, avocados.

  • I have started buying some things gluten free at Trader Joe’s.

  • Staying away from “bad” foods

  • Started taking a multi vitamin

Ok. Breakfast is calling me, and I have a million little errands to run before vacation officially begins. Enjoy the day!

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Thyroid Update

  1. Pingback: Listen to Your Body |

  2. Pingback: Rotten Bananas | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

