Hallows Eve Fun Run

Today has been a crazy day! The weather is out of control. It’s pretty crazy here in Massachusetts as we are enduring hurricane Sandy. She is here, and she is pissed!

Yesterday I participated in the A.M.S.I Hallows Eve Fun Run in Lowell MA. The foundation provides students with higher education scholarships. For more info on this foundation, check out their website.

To be honest, I had no intention on running this 5k. I was doing it with a group of Kara’s co-workers, and I thought it would be fun to attend and get dressed up!

However, it ended up being FREEZING outside so at the last minute I decided to jog a bit to keep warm. Before I knew it, I was running it.The best part? There were people handing out water and candy throughout the race! It was like speed trick-or-treating!

Obviously my time wasn’t even close to my time in my last 5k, but this was a very different experience. The weather was cold and rainy which was actually good for my asthma so I was able to run longer. However, a large portion of the course was uphill so that slowed me down a ton! Since I was planning on walking the course with Kara, I didn’t have my ipod. Running without music is terrible! I also had 3 cups of coffee and 2 munchkins before the race…. Luckily, I made some friends the last mile of the race that kept me going!

Overall I ended up running it in about 36 minutes, which is 5 minutes longer than last time.

After the race we headed to the pub to rehydrate.

It was such a fun experience. I forgot how fun races can be. I def need to get my act together and sign up for more.

8 thoughts on “Hallows Eve Fun Run

  1. Wahhhh sad I didn’t get to see you!! It was such a fun race!!! I was totally shocked when I ran it so well considering my hang over, haha. I’m doing the Jingle Bell Run in Somerville in December and the Lowell 1st Run on New Year’s Day. You should do those too!! No hills in the New Year’s one, I promise 🙂

  2. Pingback: Goodbye 12, Hello 13! |

What do you think?

