WIAW: With the President

Hey everyone and welcome to the day after. IDK about you but I cannot wait for those election commercials to be replaced with holiday ones. 🙂  Speaking of which, it already feels like winter! We are actually supposed to get some snow today!

Here is this week’s What I Ate Wednesday!

Peas and Crayons

***Just a reminder, WIAW is about sharing food and recipe ideas and embracing our love of food. It is not about judgement or comparison. We all love different flavors and combos which is what makes these posts so fun.

Without further adieu…..

This is what I ate on Monday November 5th

BREAKFAST: 7 am

Arnold 9 Grain Bread with PB2 and a cup of black tea!

How great is this mug?! I totally forgot I bought this on our honeymoon!

SNACK: 10am

Low fat cheese stick and some hot apple cider. I am really trying to drink more fluids during the day.

LUNCH: 12pm

Leftover chicken soup from this weekend. 🙂

Something about a hot bowl of soup on a cold day that makes everything better. 🙂

SNACK: 3pm

This is what my room looked like by the afternoon today. Needless to say I was in need of a little pick me up!

DINNER: 5:30

Last time we went grocery shopping salmon fillets were on sale for $5.99 lb so we picked up a few pounds to freeze. We immediately knew we wanted to use our new grill, and do this fish up right.

Lemon pepper, lemon juice, and dried basil.

Once again… I cannot stress enough…keep it simple! Salmon is an incredible fish, why cover it with other flavors?

A thing of beauty.

On the side, I microwaved some instant whole wheat couscous from Trader Joe’s, and steamed the last of the zucchini and carrots from our farm share.

Tip: I add chopped tomatoes and a tsp of Ken’s Light Italian dressing to my couscous. It adds a moisture and a great flavor!

DESSERT: Tonight’s dessert was pretty freaking sweet. You may be shocked to hear that it actually doesn’t involve food.

After I got home from voting last night I tweeted (something I rarely do, as my followers know) “Voted for the first time! #voteObama”

About 20 minutes later I logged into blog world and I noticed my blog views had suddenly skyrocketed! I also noticed that I suddenly had about 300 new friends on Twitter. To be honest I thought I had some sort of virus, until my friend Teresa called to tell me that Obama had retweeted me!

Yes, Barack Obama!

How cool is that?!?! We are like best friends now! Within an hr I had about 1200 re-tweets and 300 more friends.  Talk about great advertising for the ol’ blog huh?! What better way to get your name out there than to have the President of the United States tweet about you?! Too cool.

It was a very sweet ending to the day. 🙂

Question:

How do you cook fish?

What is your favorite afternoon snack???

15 thoughts on “WIAW: With the President

    • It’s my current favorite mug. 🙂 Everyone has this notion that fish is expensive and difficult to prepare. If you find it on sale, it’s generally $3-$5 a pound! We always stock up and freeze it in portions.

  1. Great idea to make hot cider at work, I may have to steal that for myself. And i love how one little tweet went viral so quickly, fun! 🙂

  2. Enjoyed looking at your blog, feels refreshing just to look at and brings out an inner happiness! Congrats on the RT, hope it brings more people to your blog

  3. Pingback: Not So Thirsty Thursday |

  4. Pingback: Interesting Statistics | Savor Life's Flavors

What do you think?

