Thanksgiving Favorites

Woo hoo! Friday! AND a three day weekend is coming up.

 

 

One perk of being a teacher is getting those major holidays off that most workers do not. I actually don’t have any plans this weekend with the exception of Sunday’s football game, so I am looking forward to relaxing and hopefully trying out some new recipes.

As I mentioned yesterday, Nolan and I had a crock pot meal cooking all day for last night’s dinner.

Drumsticks in a bbq jerk sauce that I got last year in Bermuda. We defrosted and skinned the drumsticks and then soaked them in the sauce overnight. In the morning we just plugged it in and let it cook while we worked. 8 hrs later dinner was served.

On the side, I microwaved a roasted potato and veggie Green Giant steamers bag .

These steamers are so clutch!

 

Can you believe that Thanksgiving is less than 2 weeks away!?

The past few months have flown by, its unbelievable. I love Thanksgiving for a number of reasons, but it’s always a bit stressful because we have to pick and choose which family parties we go to. In the past we have had to split up when meals overlap, or spend limited amounts of time at each one. I think last year we actually went to 3 Thanksgivings …..and ate at every one. So much food!

Don’t get me wrong, we love being able to eat eat eat, but it’s hard to appreciate the delicious foods and pies when your pants are unbuttoned before you even get in the door. I wish we could just have a Thanksgiving weekend! 1 on Thursday, 1 on Friday, 1 on Saturday, and then sleep all day Sunday. That way we could actually visit with everyone we want and not feel rushed and stuffed.

I love every food associated with Thanksgiving but these are a few foods I especially look forward to on turkey day:

Green Bean casserole! Ugh, this is just a must. I LOVE green bean casserole.

Cranberry sauce (from a can)

Stuffing muffins!

Yes, stuffing, in muffin form! Nolan and I found a recipe for these about 2 yrs ago and they have become one of our favorite Thanksgiving foods.

Pumpkin cheesecake

My aunt Jennifer makes an incredible pumpkin cheesecake that I always want to just stick my face in!

Ok, now that my mouth is watering I am going to work. I hope your Friday flies by!

Question:

Which food at Thanksgiving do you most look forward to?

Any good plans this weekend?

16 thoughts on “Thanksgiving Favorites

  1. That is awesome about getting so many days off. I have found working at a college campus, I don’t get days off that most people do. If the students get the day off I normally don’t because I schedule counseling meetings and if it’s a general work holiday then the students normally don’t get it off (except major…) but that is fine because I have weird breaks on their semester schedule too!

  2. I am so with you on Thanksgiving being stressful. The BF and I also have to pick and choose which parties and families to see, so last year we started a rotation system. It stinks sometimes, but then we realize we are blessed to have so much family. I think last year we went to 3 as well. Luckily one family does it on the Saturday after so we can always make that one!

    I also LOVE green bean casserole and cranberries from a can (no chunks!). Those have been my two favorites since I was little! Too funny.. I didn’t realize others love jellied cranberries from a can too! πŸ™‚

What do you think?

