No More Excuses!

This is the first 5 day week I have worked in… a month? Maybe more. I can already tell this is going to be a long one!

Yesterday I made a big step! I finally joined a gym! It’s only been 5 months since mine closed……nbd. I got a holiday deal which is always a bonus! Now I have absolutely no excuse for not working out. (Not that the treadmill at the foot of my bed gave me any excuses.)

**Oh also!- I no longer sound like a pack-a-day smoker!!!!**

Working out always makes me feel productive. When I got home and showered off the sweaty smell of success and new commitment, I got busy in the kitchen. I was craving a stir fry with some extra protein. I literally opened the freezer and threw every frozen veggie we had in the pan, microwaved a bag of Steamfresh rice, and threw in some bonus chicken.ย  Maybe took 7 minutes. Maybe cost $5.ย  For some extra protein I scrambled an egg and an egg white.

Say hello to homemade chicken fried rice!

  • Frozen bell peppers
  • Frozen spinach
  • Shaw’s frozen mixed veggies (lima beans, peas, green beans, corn, carrots)
  • Scrambled eggs
  • Bonus chicken

IMAG4190

I also have two very yummy recipes to share with you! As you know, Nolan and I LOVE playing host to our friends on Sundays for the Patriots games. Each week we try to create something new. Our friends/family make VERY good guinea pigs. ๐Ÿ™‚

Since last week’s game was on Thanksgiving, we didn’t have a chance to test any new recipes for the game. To make up for lost time, we brought out 2 new creations.

#1: Pepperoni pizza dip

IMAG4176

Now, I used the reduced fat cream cheese and the low fat shredded cheese so it’s practically calorie-less. ๐Ÿ™‚

fqwfqf

IMAG4169

pizza

I grabbed a stale discounted baguette from the grocery store, cut it up, brushed it with garlic butter, and baked it. They were the perfect “crust” dippers for my dip. ๐Ÿ™‚

IMAG4174

IMAG4177

# 2 Jalapeno Boats

Nolan, as always, was much more ambitious in the kitchen this weekend. In true Nolan form, he refuses to tell me an exact recipe until he deems it “perfect”. However, I took notes, and this is basically what he did. LOL

peps

jalapeno

IMAG4181

They don’t look like much, mostly because my stomach was in too much of a hurry to slow down and take a good picture.

Now that I have your mouth watering, it’s time for work. Enjoy the day!

Question:

What did you pack for lunch today?

4 thoughts on “No More Excuses!

  1. Holy pizza dip!!! YUM!!!! I will be adding that to a list of things to try, like NOW. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Good for joining a gym. I took a break from mine when I had surgery, and I haven’t gone back. It’s like a walk of shame returning.. I don’t know what is holding me back.

What do you think?

