WIAW: Veggy-It-Up

 This week is flying by and the weekend will be here before you know it! And this is a big weekend for us..Patriots are going to round 3 of the playoffs and….THE BRUINS ARE BACK!  

Ok, so the past few weeks I have been really trying to balance my food choices a bit more. I know it’s not the best, but I try and eat as healthy as possible during the week because once the weekend hits, so do the empty calories.

I have come to the realization that I am not going to pass on the football food and festivities. And I don’t want to! I have certainly cut down on the crap, but to balance some of that, I am trying to veggy-it-up during the week.

Peas and Crayons

 

Tuesday, Jan 15th.

BREAKFAST:

Egg scramble and 1/2 an apple with some PB2!

IMAG4489

Egg white scramble with tomatoes, green bell peppers, and spinach.

IMAG4490

LUNCH/SNACK:

1/2 ham sandwich on Arnold Double Fiber bread with boiled carrots (I hate raw carrots) and the other half of my apple. (The string cheese was my snack)

 

IMAG4475

I am desperately trying to drink more fluids throughout the day. These 1 liters were $1 each. I bought a bunch, but my favorite so far is the Ruby Red Grapefruit. 🙂

IMAG4479

DINNER/DESSERT:

Last night was date night, and after MUCH debate we ended up at Cheesecake Factory! Nolan had never been, and it hadn’t been years.

IMAG4510

Yummy bread

I was surprised to see they actually have  a “SkinnyLicious menu”. It’s a while menu devoted to “healthier” options. It made ordering dinner a lot easier!

I went with the Asian Chicken Salad- Grilled Chicken, Romaine, Snow Peas, Carrots, Bean Sprouts, Green Onions, Cilantro, Almonds and Sesame Seeds Served with Our SkinnyLicious™ Sesame-Soy Dressing 590 calories

IMAG4511

HOLY SALAD!!!

For some perspective, look at the spoon compared to the plate. That is not a midget spoon. It’s  a gigantic plate. I didn’t even come close to making a dent in it, and I will probably be eating these leftovers for the next week!

I have to be honest though, I didn’t love it. It was a bit bland. I would have appreciated half the salad with a bit more substance in there. I always kick myself when I get something at a restaurant that I could easily make at home. Oh well. It was certainly guilt free and I had plenty of room for dessert.

Now, I could have ruined my healthy choices that day and my hour workout, but I decided against the cheesecake. Since the restaurant is attached to the mall, we headed inside and got some frozen yogurt from Red Mango!

Small order of POM frozen yogurt

(same thing I got last time I went there…which is when this picture was taken)

*******************

This weekend I downloaded the newest Imagine Dragons album because I am so obsessed with their song It’s Time. I soon fell in love with the whole album as well, and here is one of my favorites! Enjoy

Song of the Day:

Imagine Dragons- Demons

18 thoughts on “WIAW: Veggy-It-Up

  1. I’m glad to hear of someone else who enjoys football food too. Though I’m not as much into the sport this year, I wouldn’t worry about football Sunday’s ever…eating more balanced meals throughout the week was my focus too!

  2. omg yes! My bf and I are totally going to cheesecake factory AND red mango this weekend too!! And I already looked at the skinnylicious menu online & decided I wanted that salad. Crazy. (and yes, I am that weirdo that picks out what they want to order like a week before they go…)

  3. I think the same way when I’m at a restaurant about picking something I don’t/can’t make at home but sometimes a salad is all you want! I always get the honey mustard chicken one at bakers square…. mmmm

  4. when i visit the states i always have to pop into the cheesecake factory 🙂 their malt bread there is amazinggg! i ordered that salad when i was over there as well – it is hugeeee!

What do you think?