The Calm Before the Storm

The sky looked very peaceful and unassuming yesterday evening.

vsdvfwe

You would never think that this was hours away! 

mapp

YUP! I am currently sitting on my couch in my pjs. 🙂 I love Snow Days!!! I got the call last night which is always such a fantastic feeling, knowing before you go to bed that you don’t have to set an alarm. Teachers are just as excited about snow days as the kids!

For the past 2 years we have had pretty boring winters with very little snowfall, but that is about to come to a screeching halt. I am about where that black dot is. We are estimated to get between 2-3 FEET of snow in some areas between tonight and tomorrow.

mail.google.com

These are my “before” pictures from our balcony. I have a feeling it will be a very different sight in a few hours!

IMAG4652

wefw

Honestly, I am pretty excited. I have nowhere to be this weekend so I plan to stay in my pajamas, eat snacks, drink hot cocoa, and watch the madness from the balcony with Nolan.

Yesterday after work I went out and stocked up on some essentials.

Blizzard Essentials:

  • batteries
  • canned foods – tuna, chicken, etc…
  • candles
  • snacks (pretzels, chips, etc…)
  • deck of cards
  • eggs – hard boiled them
  • bread
  • deli meat
  • water
  • beer

Wish us luck!

Question of the Day:

How do you prepare for a weather

21 thoughts on “The Calm Before the Storm

  1. I have a snow day too – except I spent my morning at the grocery store buying ingredients so that I could cook all day. I’m roasting some cashews, making some bacon, baking red velvet cheesecake bars. Pretty much everything I’m not supposed to do. 🙂 Stay safe and warm!

  2. Good luck! It’s looking like Armageddon on the news! I would totally stock up on wine, cheese & tortilla chips! And plan to stay in my pi’s all weekend. Stay warm!

  3. Here in NYC they’re ONLY predicting a foot of snow. So far we’re mostly having sleet and ice pellets and some real live snow would actually be welcome. Until then, we’re stocked up with food, beverages, Hulu and our amazing LED lanterns. I’m looking forward to a totally lazy weekend. Good luck with your power, but you sound prepared for anything.

    • Only a foot huh? LOL We escaped the ice/rain and we got about 25-30 inches of light snow. It wasn’t too hard to shovel which was good because there was plenty of snow to move.
      We didn’t lose electricity (yet) but with everyone out trying to move cars/snow, you never know what can happen. Hope you guys stayed safe!

What do you think?

