I Scream,You Scream, We All Scream For Ice Cream!

FRIDAY!!! WOO HOO!

Sry I’m a tad excited for the weekend. Tomorrow, my friend Teresa and I are heading to the Phantom Gourmet Wine and Food Fest!

We went last year and had such a blast. This year the festival is much larger with more wine and food. What could be better?! I’m also really looking forward to meeting Nicole from Black Tie Cookies who sponsored my last giveaway. ๐Ÿ™‚

*********************

So before I get to the ice cream, I have to share last night’s dinner because we had quite the seafood feast!

ย Shrimp was on sale this week at the grocery store so of course we grabbed some.

IMAG4927

Instead of adding them to a recipe, we just cooked them up and had them cocktail style.

We were very intrigued when we came across these in the store…

IMAG4928

Stuffed clams! 9 of them for $5. SOLD!

Honestly, I have no idea what was in these but holy delicious!

IMAG4929

I’m guessing it’s a mix of seafood with breadcrumbs, butter, celery, and onions. They were moist, flavorful, and had a great texture.

Ok, on to the ice cream!

Another factory Nolan and I had the chance to tour in Vermont was none other than the Ben & Jerry’s Ice Cream factory!

B&J was started by 2 guys about 30 years ago after they took an ice cream making course at the University of Pennsylvania.

They bought an old gas station to sell their creations, and created an ice cream bus to spread the word!

The bus actually blew up while on the road and drew national attention to the B&J company! Serendipity huh?

I had no idea how active the company is in their community! The company is run based on 3 principles: (This is directly from their site)

Social Mission: To operate the Company in a way that actively recognizes the central role that business plays in society by initiating innovative ways to improve the quality of life locally, nationally and internationally.

Product Mission: To make, distribute and sell the finest quality all natural ice cream and euphoric concoctions with a continued commitment to incorporating wholesome, natural ingredients and promoting business practices that respect the Earth and the Environment.

Economic Mission: To operate the Company on a sustainable financial basis of profitable growth, increasing value for our stakeholders and expanding opportunities for development and career growth for our employees.

Pretty cool huh?

For $4 you can take a 30 minute tour which takes you inside the factory and gives you a birds eye view to the ice cream magic! For good reason, they don’t allow photographs inside the factory (very Wonka-esque.).

IMAG4849

The tour ends in the FlavoRoom with a free sample!

IMAG4855

YUMMMMM

IMAG4857

Aside from the free samples, my favorite part of the factory was the Flavor Graveyard outside.

IMAG4858

It depicts all the past flavors which are no longer available.

IMAG4859

IMAG4860

It was such a fun, and surprisingly educational experience. It certainly made me appreciate the hard work that goes into each little container.

Question of the Day:

What is your favorite B&J ice cream flavor?: Mine is everything but the…ย 

12 thoughts on “I Scream,You Scream, We All Scream For Ice Cream!

  1. Ben and Jerry’s has some of the best ice cream AND frozen yogurt. Great stuff!

    I love shrimp . . . and also love that shrimp cocktail could be the easiest protein-packed, tasty thing to whip up in no time. One of my favorites. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • I haven’t tried their frozen yogurt yet, but it certainly looks good. Their new line of Greek style yogurt caught my eye! I just know mu husband wont eat it so I’ll end up consuming the whole thing. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. The Ben & Jerry’s factory is so much fun! I went there a couple times as a kid.. the flavor graveyard was totally my favorite part too. Believe it or not back that I wasn’t even that into the ice cream. I remember getting a taste of Phish Food and thinking it was so gross haha.
    My tastebuds have since evolved and my favorite now is Cherry Garcia.

  3. Phish Food is my favorite, and I don’t even like caramel or marshmallow that much on their own. I haven’t seen it in a really long time so I hope it’s not in the graveyard. It’s so good I might even send flowers.

What do you think?

