Crock Pot Cacciatore

Kill me now. Tad dramatic? Possibly. All weekend I had an annoying sore throat that finally morphed into a head cold. It’s that kind of sickness where you just feel achy, swollen, and a bit faucet like. I’m about 2 tissue boxes down!

I attempted to go to work yesterday but I only lasted about 5 minutes before I disgusted everyone and was asked to leave lol.

Since I was stuck home all day I did some recipe research and threw together a new crock pot meal.

dqwdq

In the morning…

IMAG4949

…8 hrs later

IMAG4951

I know this next comment is going to piss some people off, including some of my friends but I really don’t like chicken parm. HUH?! GASP!

I don’t know why but I have never loved the chicken/pasta sauce combo. I prefer red meat on my pasta. But since the chicken sits in the juices and tomatoes all day, it absorbs it all and truly melts in your mouth. I kept (well Nolan kept) the mushrooms a bit thick so they were tender and meaty.

IMAG4952

The best part of this recipe is that it’s just so simple. I’m sure, buried deep behind the pasta and canned peas, everyone has a can of diced tomatoes on hand.  Many of the recipes I saw used chicken thighs and then removed the bones in the end. I would have used ’em if I had ’em because they are so much cheaper per pound. Next time I’ll stock up!

Ok, time to get moving! Enjoy the day!

Questions of the Day:

Chicken parm vs eggplant parm?

Italian vs. Chinese? Food of course!

12 thoughts on “Crock Pot Cacciatore

  1. You cracked me up with that comment about how you disgusted everyone and was asked to leave work. Hope you feel better soon! I started feeling the scratchy throat last night but I’m hoping this passes without turning into anything.

    As for your recipe, oddly I am totally right there with you on the chicken and pasta mix not being a favorite. I don’t know what it is. But that crockpot recipe does look delicious and I think my daughter and hubby would enjoy it. I love crockpot meals! Thanks for sharing.

  2. I totally prefer eggplant parm over chick.. not really a big fan of it to be honest. I hardly ever eat chinese, I just find it to be too greasy for my stomach, so Italian all the way πŸ™‚

    Feel better dear!!!

  3. This sounds amazingly delicious and beyond easy to make. I definitely want to try to adapt it to make a vegetarian version.

    Definitely eggplant parm! And not just because I am a vegetarian..because it is DELICIOUS!

  4. Yum on the recipe, thanks for sharing! Huge fan of the crockpot! I’m not a huge chicken parm fan either (guess they’ll have to kill us both!). Feel better!

What do you think?

