Get Sconed

So as I mentioned before, I went a little scone crazy the other day. I hadn’t made scones in a while and they are really the only thing I can bake that are successful and edible. While I went for a run, I was thinking about the different combinations of scones I could make. I recently was turned onto a delicious trail mix at Trader Joe’s that immediately inspired some creations!

IMAG5263

There are so many delicious flavors to savor in this bag! I decided to deconstruct the mix and take some of the elements for my recipes.

PicMonkey Collage

Left to right: Pineapple, mango, and macadamia nuts,   blueberries and almonds,     dried cranberries with oranges.

IMAG5274

IMAG5275

IMAG5276

I started with my traditional scone mix. (minus the blueberries)

scones

IMAG5262

 Then I divided the dough into 3 balls and added the different ingredients to each.

IMAG5269

I flattened each ball out and using my pizza cutter, cut them into 8 pieces.

IMAG5273

15 minutes later….

IMAG5277

IMAG5278

Don’t they look good?? My kitchen however…..not so pretty. I made quite a mess! I am certainly not a ‘clean as I go’ cook. I’m more of a ‘clean as I need dishes’  kinda girl.

I have already sampled all 3 flavors and I love them all, but I especially love the blueberry almond. It goes great with my morning coffee. 🙂 Nothing like a savory breakfast to start the day!

Question of the day:

What is your favorite thing to eat for breakfast?

3 thoughts on “Get Sconed

What do you think?

