Chicago Style Dog

Good morning! Man did I sleep like a ROCK last night hahaha.  I am starting to feel normal again and I am definitely well rested.

*************

Thank goodness I still had some scones leftover to grab on my way out the door for breakfast because I did NOT prep meals Sunday night.

IMAG5332

It’s almost time to make a new batch. 🙂

I am also very grateful for the can of soup I found in my trunk (don’t ask) that I  had for lunch.

gerge

***************

So I couldn’t have gone on a food trip without bringing Nolan home some presents!

IMAG5333Two different bbq sauces by Two Fat Guys, two different dip mixes, and of course, Chicago style relish. This stuff is radioactive looking due to it’s electric green color. Of course, he wasted no time putting the ingredient to good use!

IMAG5347No, this wasn’t his dinner, it was his 9 pm snack. It looks pretty damn tasty though, doesn’t it? And a bit similar  to my windy city dog.

IMAG5326

Now, a Chicago style dog is an all-beef dog on a poppy seed bun,  and said to be “dragged through the garden” because of all the toppings. They are covered with yellow mustard, chopped white onions, bright green sweet pickle relish, a dill pickle spear, tomato slices, pickled sport peppers, and a dash of celery salt.  Contrary to the rest of the world there is NO KETCHUP on a Chicago style dog. But, you don’t have to go to Chicago to try this style of hot dog. Windy City Eats is a restaurant in Weymouth MA that makes a fantastic replica of this Chicago staple. Nolan and I have had them at several of the Phantom Gourmet events including the Hot Dog Safari which is coming up next month!

Yummmmm my mouth is watering just thinking about it!

Ok, time to get a move on! I have a very busy week ahead of me. Enjoy the day!

Question:

What do YOU put on a hot dog?

5 thoughts on “Chicago Style Dog

  1. Coming back to an empty kitchen is the worst, yea for “hidden staples”! And I think the only place I ever eat a hot dog are Chicago or the ballpark. And I’m an ALL mustard sort of gal!

  2. YUMM I love Chicago Style… even though I get mine with no onions or peppers (I live north of Chicago but only some places put peppers… so I say none just in case). It is also the only time I ever eat mustard.

What do you think?

