WIAW: Scrounging

Hey there and welcome to What I Ate Wednesday! Yesterday was actually a day of very good eats! We are desperately in need of a trip to the grocery store, so we have really been scrounging around the fridge for meals.

Peas and Crayons

BREAKFAST

Every month we have a faculty birthday breakfast. Each month a different grade level of teachers plans the breakfast and brings in tasty treats.
IMAG5348

I basically raided the fruit salad like I typically do. Fresh fruit is one of my favorite foods, but it’s so expensive this time of year. This months fruit salad was filled with grapes, blueberries, kiwi, strawberries, pineapple, cantaloupe  and honeydew. I also could not resist these bran muffins with apple and carrot? I need to hunt down this recipe because they were so moist and delicious!

IMAG5349
LUNCH

I ransacked the fridge and came out with some leftover ingredients. Chicken salad!

IMAG5350

Bonus chicken, celery, Laughing Cow, and leftover cranberry and orange mix from my scones.
IMAG5351

IMAG5352

IMAG5356

IMAG5357

SNACK

Trail Mix

IMAG5263

DINNER:

 

IMAG5343

Nolan and I had created a “baked” buffalo chicken recipe back in college and I honestly completely forgot about it until this week. IDK what made me think of it, but the recipe just came rushing to the front of my brain screaming “eat me eat me!” I promise I will post this recipe soon, because it would be downright selfish of me not to!

IMAG5346

On the side, I cooked up some shaved Brussels Sprouts from Trader Joe’s. I have recently gotten many recommendations on TJ’s products that I have to try, but my one microscopic complaint about TJ’s is that not all of their stores carry the same product. I have been on the hunt for “vegetable bird nests” for a few weeks now with no luck, but I finally found these sprouts after a month of searching!

IMAG5339

I am so grateful to my fairy godmother for suggesting these! They were quick and easy to cook up and soooo yummy!

IMAG5342

I steamed them with a little bit of lemon pepper and sea salt. Delish!

This is certainly a product I will be buying again very soon. It’s a nice change of pace from the other veggies we often make.  Don’t you just love when that happens?

Question of the day:

What’s your go to side dish?

7 thoughts on “WIAW: Scrounging

What do you think?

