WIAW: Fancy Feast

Wednesday already?! And May?! Another month has come and gone. Crazyness. I have a feeling that summer will be here before we know it! Not that I’m complaining. šŸ˜‰

Alright, let’s get to this week’s best eats!

Peas and Crayons

BREAKFAST:

An oldie but goodie! Trader Joe’s wheat waffles topped with their very cherry mix!

Funny story- I just bought these again this weekend and was depressed when I got home andĀ rememberedĀ our toaster had recently been demolished in a freak reaching-for-something-on-top-of-the-fridge-and-pulling-down-everythingĀ incident…..oops! So I ended up cooking them in a skillet, which was a bitĀ bizarre.

LUNCH

This weekend I did a lot of catching up in blog land and realized that everyone else’s food looked better than mine. Don’t you hate when that happens? So I really put some effort into my meal development.

IMAG5403

A beautiful spring salad topped with tomatoes, red peppers, cucumbers, carrots, avocado, and mango!IMAG5400

Also for lunch, homemade zucchini sticks! I messed up the first batch and had to creatively figure out a solution, so a recipe will be coming soon.

IMAG5404

DINNER:

After a long hiatus, Nolan and I reinstated date night this week! We had a Groupon for Bistro 20, a local restaurant, that expired on the 30th so our dinner reservations were a no brainer.

We also never had the opportunity to celebrate Nolan’s new job, so we decided to pull out all the stops for dinner!

I started with a glass of Pinot Grigio.

IMAG5439and we ordered the crab croquettes appetizer. (as recommended by the Phantom šŸ™‚ Ā )

IMAG5443Nolan and I are convinced ourĀ waiterĀ ate one of them on the way to the table. Right?! Who serves an odd number appetizer? And look at that gap! Very suspicious.

The 1 1/2 croquette I ate were amazing! The crab meat inside was very moist and flavorful. The breading was a nice complement and not overpowering to theĀ delicateĀ meat. It was basically an upscale crab cake.

We both spent a good 20 minutes looking over the menu. Then we both made very smart decisions!

My order:

Rack of Lamb-Vin brƻlƩe and blueberry sauce, asparagus, warm cannellini salad.

IMAG5446

Nolan’s order:

Sirloin Steak 10 ozĀ Grilled Angus Sirloin, topped with shaved pecorino romano cheese. Served with gorgonzola and carmelized onions stuffed baked potato and asparagus.

IMAG5445Now, I have a serious question for you all…. How on Earth are you supposed to eat a rack of lamb?!

I’ve never ordered it before and I have no idea. Ā And the waitress didn’t give me a knife! I borrowed Nolan’s at first, but by the second half of the rack …and my second glass of wine, I just ate it like aĀ popsicle…..Classy? No…Succulent, tender, andĀ luscious, yes!

I have only had lamb as an appetizer before, never a whole rack so I had no idea how it was prepared. It came pretty raw, which is generally how I order my meat so I was very excited. It’s a bit sweeter than steak, but a little less flavorful. It was still great, but much moreĀ delicate. The blueberry sauce was the perfect accent to this dish.

It was a pretty fancy feast! šŸ™‚

Ooops, tangent, sorry.

DESSERT:

Speaking of popsicle, I bought these fruit bars at Trader Joe’s this week.

imag1431

If you haven’t tried them, go get them! They are triple layer fruit bars in raspberry, lemon, and strawberry. They are 120 calories and just the right amount of sweet to top off a day of great eats. It also takes a while to eat because it’s so cold, so it seems like a big treat. šŸ™‚ Sorry, that’s just my logic!

Question of the Day:

What’s your favorite way to polish off a day of eats?

13 thoughts on “WIAW: Fancy Feast

  1. Ha Ha Ha won’t lie.. it does look as if the waiter had one.. I mean that empty spot is so unusual?

    oh & I totally think you succeeded with making your lunch look delicious.. though they always look good =)

  2. Yum! The zucchini sticks look delicious! Bummer about your toaster! I would have toasted my waffles in the oven but a skillet works too! I love to end my day with fresh fruit which lately is watermelon! SO good!

What do you think?

