Stuffed Mushrooms

Well good morning sunshine! Man did I sleep well. Not too hot, not too cold, and I just love that soothing sound of the fan.

This week is flying by for me. There are only 25 more days of school left, and I only pray we make it that long.

First off, last night’s dinner was delicious! It wasn’t a culinary masterpiece or anything, but it was pretty damn good! Oh, and wicked easy. -Yes, I am one of those Bostonians who actually says “wicked” in my everyday dialog.

IMAG5657

A few weeks back we picked up a giant bag of cheese raviolis to make on a lazy night. Last night wasn’t really a lazy night, I just couldn’t stop thinking about those little pockets of heaven sitting in the freezer.

To add a little pizzazz to the meal, I stopped at Trader Joe’s to pick up some ingredients.

IMAG5654

I had never tried this sauce before so I figured, why not!  The sauce had lots of chunks in it which added some density to the dish, and was very rich and creamy. To be honest, I didn’t like it more or less than a traditional marinara sauce, but then again, my Irish taste buds aren’t too picky. 😉

IMAG5658

Raviolis have always been my favorite pasta. Really anything stuffed with cheese is delicious, right?

On the side I steamed up some shredded brussels sprouts, my new favorite vegetable, with some lemon pepper. If you haven’t tried these yet, GO GET THEM!

IMAG5659Ugh, sooo good. And I think it took all of 20 minutes to make. WIN WIN.

****************************************************************

Ok, before I leave you this morning, here is the last of our two recipes from this past weekends’ festivities.

Stuffed Mushrooms!

template recipe4

We really wanted to tackle something new this weekend and while I chose taquitos, he chose stuffed mushrooms.

We started by scooping out the insides of about 30 mushrooms. Using the 1/2 teaspoon scooper made this soooo easy!

IMAG5621

The mixture:

IMAG5622

Stuffing them was pretty simple as well with the teaspoon scooper.

They came out looking pretty well huh?

IMAG5628The problem with these little suckers? They are soo poppable! I ate way too many of them. Every time I walked by the tray I popped one in my mouth.

Another winner in the books! Sure it’s a few more steps than I would like, but so worth it in the end. I think next time we will try a few different types of stuffing.

Alrighty, off to start the day. Catch ya later!

Question of the Day:

You go to a party and there is a bowl of chips and a plate of cookies. What do you grab first? – For me, I would eat the whole bag of chips before touching the cookies. My sweet tooth died in the 90’s. I blame a Halloween where I consumed an obscene amount of candy corn. Oops!

 

4 thoughts on “Stuffed Mushrooms

  1. the shredded brussel sprouts are my fave!!! they are so easy to cook up and can eb used so many ways!!! the ravioli/brussel sprout combo looks heavenly! i will definitely have to give it a go!

What do you think?